How a small bet from 6 months ago made me $2,000 today

Why small bets will beat big beats in your builder journey

9 months ago I made the scariest decision of my career.

I decided to leave my comfortable consulting job to build projects online. Since then I have:

  • Built a Twitter audience

  • Made $ online with e-commerce

  • Learned coding from scratch

  • Built 10+ projects and launched 3+ startups

  • Released multiple short-form videos with 1000 views +

  • Built a newsletter

  • Built up my design, development, and copywriting skills

I tried, failed & won at so many different things.

And last week the most unexpected thing happened. One of the small bets I made 6 months ago paid back.

I had an inbound for design & dev work that came from dribbble.com. Where I posted only 3 of my designs, 6 months ago.

I remember I just posted my stuff on there because “why not, got nothing to lose”

Fast forward to today. This inbound led me to close a $2,000+ client project.

This is a very important concept I want to talk about today, builders.

Casting a wide net of small bets is the best way to start building online.

Everyone wants to be the next Steve Jobs or the next Elon. But to build big you first have to build small.

Entrepreneurship is not like 9-5, you don’t have someone tell you what to do.

It can get confusing. You can turn in circles.

But you can never go wrong pursuing your genuine curiosity and launching stuff.

Consistently build & launch small projects that genuinely interest you.

Spread them across socials, types of projects, industries, and business models.

Nothing works out if you don’t give the chance for success to find you.

And even if nothing works out. You’ll have developed something worth so much more: valuable skills.

So put stuff out there. Put yourself out there.

Cast a wide net of small bets and double down on what works.

I hope you enjoyed this one. 

If you want to see more of my content, feel free to check out my posts on X 👇

If you’re curious about what I’m working on at the moment. Check out learniverse.xyz to gamify your learning with AI-powered course creation.