Why optimizing for life experience will make you a millionaire

Life experience is the hidden cheat code for founders to build something truly different

Hey builders đź‘‹

Ever thought about how you could get extraordinary outcomes in your life?

I certainly have. And it made me realize something that most successful founders have in common…

Their extraordinary outcomes were fueled by extraordinary experiences.

It makes sense because life experience directly shapes how we see the world. Most of our decisions, thoughts, and actions result from it.

The quality and uniqueness of our experiences will dictate the quality of our outcomes.

Now one common misconception I’ve seen a lot is:

âťť

Just invest a lot of time in your goal and you’ll make it.

That’s bad advice.

Volume only brute forces breakthroughs.

It is nowhere near the most efficient way to improve your outcomes.

Your peak creative potential is hidden behind actions you aren’t doing & thoughts you’re not having.

That’s why investing in life experience is a hidden cheat code.

it expands your mindset, skills & opportunities in almost a magical way.

Most of all, it enables the most powerful force in your life. Serendipity.

And serendipity is the true creator of wealth.

Here are 3 examples of massively successful founders & their upbringing:

Steve Job - Apple

  • Dropped out of college after 6 months

  • Traveled to India seeking spiritual enlightenment

  • Experimented with psychedelic drugs

  • Became a Zen Buddhist practitioner

Pieter Levels - #1 millionaire indiehacker

  • Built a successful electronic music YouTube channel

  • Dropped out of high-paying consulting to travel to Asia

  • Self-taught coding from scratch

  • Built 12 startups in 12 months while traveling to 10+ countries

Justin Khan - Founder of Twitch.tv

  • Unemployed for 1 year after graduating from Yale

  • Self-taught coding from textbooks

  • Part of the startup incubator Y Combinator at age 22

  • Streamed his life 24/7 for 8 months straight

How to optimize for life experience? Where to start?

You have to see genuine desires as signs of opportunities.

What would a clone of you with no fear do?

What I did was pursue my natural curiosity about Japan.

For the past 2 years, while working at my 9-5, I kept telling myself that I would soon save enough money or have enough banked vacations to finally go to Japan.

My heart was calling for an adventure in Japan.

I didn’t realize my limitations were all self-imposed.

The reality was: I could go whenever I wanted, and find ways to make the trip within my budget. I didn’t have to keep my job or stay in Canada.

Realizing that all situations that I was in were the result of choices I made was liberating.

First, I had to free my mind, to even perceive that I had the choice.

Secondly, I had to eliminate fear from my decision, to tune in to what the heart was calling.

Thirdly, I had to take the leap and do it, enabling a shift of realities to take place.

Which led me to go live in Japan for 3 months solo.

Itsukushima shrine, Hiroshima

Very simply here are the 3 steps to create your unique life experience:

  • Pay attention to your genuine desires

  • Execute decisions like you have no fear

  • Enable new mindset & habit shifts by adventuring in new environments

I hope you enjoyed this one. 

If you want to see more of my content, feel free to check out my posts on X 👇

If you’re curious about what I’m working on at the moment. Check out learniverse.xyz to gamify your learning with AI-powered course creation.